Comfort and Joy

I haven’t posted in some time as I have been working on a new web site for 2017. I will be sending out details soon!

However, I could not let the holiday season pass without wishing everyone a beautiful holiday season!  On this snowy, cold December morning, I seem to be hearing the Christmas song “Tidings of Comfort and Joy” (or God Rest You Merry, Gentlemen) a lot.

I started thinking of these concepts of comfort and joy as they apply to life as well as interiors. Together they are the essence of what makes us happy. Much like William Morris’ motto, “Have nothing in you home that is not beautiful or useful.”; I would take it up a notch and say, “Have nothing in your home that does not provide comfort and joy.” (people included).

Comfort is the untilmate luxury. So go for the best looking and most comfortable sofa, the best mattress, and the softest sheets you can find. When it comes to joy, this concept is different for everyone. For me it’s precious things my family have given me.  Objects that envoke beautiful memories, these are my joy. Be sure to surround yourself with whatever your joy is; photos, objects, family antiques. The things that always make you smile.

That’s all for this week – wishing you comfort and joy always,

Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

