The More of Less

A wise teacher once said, “It is easier for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle than for an interior designer to become a minimalist”. Wow – so true!  However, difficult but not impossible!   I have been reading “The More of Less” by Joshua Becker.  It is a great book about minimalism.  The idea of minimalism can be very different for each person.  I think William Morris said it best “Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful”.

As an Interior Designer, I have to admit I like shopping for “stuff”.  No, I take that back, I absolutely LOVE shopping for “stuff”.  But always the right stuff, the absolutely perfect piece. My shopping needs to fulfill a purpose. On the one hand I am always working on finding objects that are beautiful and/or useful, while at the same time editing what I do have.  I find a great way to start the editing process is to ask myself “would I buy this again”?  If the answer is no, it’s time to donate, recycle or trash the item.

I see design trends definitely moving in this direction.  What ever your personal esthetic, the design trend is more high impact pieces and less stuff.

The idea of holding onto some thing “just in case” is somewhat outdated and translates into a good deal of clutter.  Today’s technology allows us to have information and  “stuff” in hardly any time at all.  Amazon can get our “stuff” to us in some cities in as little as two hours, amazing!

So I am happily editing my space and enjoying the process.  I strongly recommend giving it a try.  Not sure where to start?  Pick up or download a copy “The More of Less” – it’s a great read!

One comment

Leave a Reply

