A Movable Feast

 

This post has nothing to do with Ernest Hemmingway or Paris.  It’s about our circa 1865 first floor kitchen  (garden level, code for basement) and our second floor dining room. This was a popular design in the 1860s, as kitchen work was quite messy at that time to say the least.  When we use the upstairs dining room there is a whole lot of feast moving happening! Up and down the stairs, over and over again. This being said, I do love this room. This is the dining room when we first looked at our house in 2009.

As stated in my 2016 goals, this is the second room I have addressed for an update.  I changed the color scheme to a lovely soft gray! Benjamin Moore Rockford Gray #HC-105, with my go to white, White Dove OC-17dove trim.

This armoire saved the day with tons of storage for china. Some women like shoes, but for me its china.

 

The only thing I want to add to this room is a crystal chandelier!  However, I keep putting it off.  The existing chandelier is original to the house.  The preservationist in me wants to keep it; as a designer it is not my first choice.  I don’t think I would part with it.  I definitely will store it.  But it is staying for now.

Wishing you movable feasts and a happy spring!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

